The Wharf

Located in The Wharf's District Square and surrounded by a great assortment of retail, restaurant, and cultural offerings, Politics and Prose at The Wharf carries a wide range of books for everyone and hosts a steady lineup of author events! Find out what’s coming up below.

VISIT US

70 District Square SW
Washington, D.C. 20024

DIRECTIONS

(202) 488-3867

 

November 27 - 10 a.m. 5 p.m.
Thanksgiving - Closed
December 24 - 10 a.m.
6 p.m.
December 25 - Closed
December 26 - 12 p.m.
6 p.m.
December 31 - 10 a.m.
5 p.m.
January 1 - Closed

HOURS

SUNDAY
10 a.m. – 8 p.m.
MONDAY – SATURDAY
10 a.m. – 10 p.m.
 

 

FOLLOW US

   

Events at The Wharf
Monday, February 3, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

Denworth, a contributing editor for Scientific American, follows Toxic Truth and I Can Hear You Whisper with a scientific look at friendship. Combining neuroscience, biology, psychology, sociology, and genetics, Denworth traces the evolutionary history of friendship, showing how our bodies and minds are primed to develop and sustain social connections throughout our lives, and how loneliness can weaken our immune and cardiovascular systems and even kill us. She also outlines the physical processes by which friendships are developed and maintained, looks at how social media are changing the nature of our close connections, and charts the role of companionship and cooperation in the creation of society itself. Denworth will be in conversation with Judith Warner, author of Perfect Madness.

 

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Friendship: The Evolution, Biology, and Extraordinary Power of Life's Fundamental Bond Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393651546
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 28th, 2020

Tuesday, February 4, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

In his follow-up to Everything Trump Touches Dies, the legendary Republican strategist and ad-maker draws on his thirty years as a political insider to tell Democrats what they must do—and how they should do it—to win the White House in 2020. Starting with the warning that the left must "put electoral realities ahead of progressive fantasies” and run a campaign that makes the election a referendum on Trump rather than a debate over policy issues, Wilson unleashes his signature mix of strategic advice and satirical asides for a scathing assessment of both Trump’s administration and the Democrats’ mistakes of 2016.

 

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Running Against the Devil: A Plot to Save America from Trump--and Democrats from Themselves Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593137581
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Crown Forum - January 14th, 2020

Monday, February 10, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

In the vein of Ta-Nehisi Coates’s Between the World and Me and Imani Perry’s Breathe, Jackson’s moving and important new book about the LGBTQ struggle is framed as a letter to his son born through surrogacy, who came out to Jackson when he was fifteen. Imparting wisdom, warning, and personal and national history, Jackson, an award-winning theater, film, and television producer—and, with his husband, winner of the Trevor Project’s 2016 Trevor Hero Award—celebrates gay identity and marvels at how far the movement has come since Stonewall. At the same time, he notes the upsurge in hatred and cautions his son not to take for granted the hard-won gains. Jackson will be in conversation with Peter Marks, Washington Post drama critic.

Politics and Prose at the Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062939777
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Harper - January 28th, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm

A renowned cultural critic, lexicographer, editor, and publisher of Restless Books, Stavans has covered myriad topics related to language and Latin American and Jewish life. His latest book, coedited with Josh Lambert, academic director of the Yiddish Book Center, gathers the writings of figures including Isaac Bashevis Singer, Grace Paley, Cynthia Ozick, Michael Chabon, Art Spiegelman, and others for an illuminating look at the role Yiddish has played in the Americas. Famously a language without a country, Yiddish, as these memoirs, stories, poems, recipes, and conversations show, has been key to shaping the way we eat, talk, joke, and think in a territory extending from the Lower East Side to Hollywood, Canada, Mexico, and throughout South America. Stavans will be in conversation with Corey Flintoff, former NPR international correspondent.

 

Politics and Prose at the Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
How Yiddish Changed America and How America Changed Yiddish Cover Image
By Ilan Stavans (Editor), Josh Lambert (Editor)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781632062628
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Restless Books - January 21st, 2020

Mon
3
7:00 pm
Lydia Denworth - Friendship: The Evolution, Biology, and Extraordinary Power of Life's Fundamental Bond — in conversation with Judith Warner — at The Wharf
Tue
4
7:00 pm
Rick Wilson - Running Against the Devil: A Plot to Save America from Trump--and Democrats from Themselves — at The Wharf
Mon
10
7:00 pm
Richie Jackson - Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son — in conversation with Peter Marks — at The Wharf
Tue
11
7:00 pm
Ilan Stavans - How Yiddish Changed America and How America Changed Yiddish — in conversation with Corey Flintoff — at The Wharf

Events
Monday, February 3, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Friendship: The Evolution, Biology, and Extraordinary Power of Life's Fundamental Bond Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393651546
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 28th, 2020

Denworth, a contributing editor for Scientific American, follows Toxic Truth and I Can Hear You Whisper with a scientific look at friendship. Combining neuroscience, biology, psychology, sociology, and genetics, Denworth traces the evolutionary history of friendship, showing how our bodies and minds are primed to develop and sustain social connections throughout our lives, and how loneliness can weaken our immune and cardiovascular systems and even kill us. She also outlines the physical processes by which friendships are developed and maintained, looks at how social media are changing the nature of our close connections, and charts the role of companionship and cooperation in the creation of society itself. Denworth will be in conversation with Judith Warner, author of Perfect Madness.

 

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Tuesday, February 4, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Running Against the Devil: A Plot to Save America from Trump--and Democrats from Themselves Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593137581
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Crown Forum - January 14th, 2020

In his follow-up to Everything Trump Touches Dies, the legendary Republican strategist and ad-maker draws on his thirty years as a political insider to tell Democrats what they must do—and how they should do it—to win the White House in 2020. Starting with the warning that the left must "put electoral realities ahead of progressive fantasies” and run a campaign that makes the election a referendum on Trump rather than a debate over policy issues, Wilson unleashes his signature mix of strategic advice and satirical asides for a scathing assessment of both Trump’s administration and the Democrats’ mistakes of 2016.

 

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Monday, February 10, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm
Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062939777
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Harper - January 28th, 2020

In the vein of Ta-Nehisi Coates’s Between the World and Me and Imani Perry’s Breathe, Jackson’s moving and important new book about the LGBTQ struggle is framed as a letter to his son born through surrogacy, who came out to Jackson when he was fifteen. Imparting wisdom, warning, and personal and national history, Jackson, an award-winning theater, film, and television producer—and, with his husband, winner of the Trevor Project’s 2016 Trevor Hero Award—celebrates gay identity and marvels at how far the movement has come since Stonewall. At the same time, he notes the upsurge in hatred and cautions his son not to take for granted the hard-won gains. Jackson will be in conversation with Peter Marks, Washington Post drama critic.

Politics and Prose at the Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
Tuesday, February 11, 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm
How Yiddish Changed America and How America Changed Yiddish Cover Image
By Ilan Stavans (Editor), Josh Lambert (Editor)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781632062628
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Restless Books - January 21st, 2020

A renowned cultural critic, lexicographer, editor, and publisher of Restless Books, Stavans has covered myriad topics related to language and Latin American and Jewish life. His latest book, coedited with Josh Lambert, academic director of the Yiddish Book Center, gathers the writings of figures including Isaac Bashevis Singer, Grace Paley, Cynthia Ozick, Michael Chabon, Art Spiegelman, and others for an illuminating look at the role Yiddish has played in the Americas. Famously a language without a country, Yiddish, as these memoirs, stories, poems, recipes, and conversations show, has been key to shaping the way we eat, talk, joke, and think in a territory extending from the Lower East Side to Hollywood, Canada, Mexico, and throughout South America. Stavans will be in conversation with Corey Flintoff, former NPR international correspondent.

 

Politics and Prose at the Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024