Please Don't Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes, by Phoebe Robinson

Staff Pick

Phoebe Robinson has always been unapologetic when it comes to language. Playfully snarky, her newest round of essays hits the palate like a Sour Patch candy, with a healthy dose of salt on the side. Robinson quips her way through the worst of #quarantimes during the initial Covid-19 surge in 2020, switching abruptly between humorous hot takes and heartfelt calls-to-action, the same way you or I might switch abruptly from one Zoom meeting to the next. Follow Phoebe as she navigates WFH, the commodification of "self care," performative activism, 4C hair, and more!

Please Don't Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes: Essays Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593184905
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Tiny Reparations Books - September 28th, 2021

The Maddaddam Trilogy, by Margaret Atwood

Staff Pick
 
For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Testaments who enjoy Atwood's knack for building dystopian landscapes that are eerily close to our own, now's the time to immerse yourself in the bio-engineered world of The Maddaddam Trilogy. Over the course of three books (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam), Atwood travels back and forth across time and perspective to reveal the cause-and-effect of a devastating plague. Atwood doesn't shy away from the big questions: where do we draw the line between "good" vs. "evil," or "nature" vs. "nurture"? What is worth preserving, and who is worthy of redemption? (Read it now and catch Michael Lesslie's television adaptation--coming soon!)
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

The Undocumented Americans, by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

Staff Pick
 
For a book that tucks easily into the back pocket of your jeans, The Undocumented Americans packs quite a punch. Villavicencio's writing is unforgiving and unidealized--her stories of the undocumented are detached from the hateful, fearmongering rhetoric of anti-immigration movements, but also from the (sometimes) picturesque, cherry-picked narratives fostered by those who support immigration reform. Instead, Villavicencio offers a stream-of-conscious blend of objective journalism and heightened realism that is--like many of her subjects--impossible to categorize. These are stories about our neighbors. These are stories about us.
The Undocumented Americans Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780399592706
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: One World - April 6th, 2021

Pages