The Maddaddam Trilogy, by Margaret Atwood

Staff Pick
 
For fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Testaments who enjoy Atwood's knack for building dystopian landscapes that are eerily close to our own, now's the time to immerse yourself in the bio-engineered world of The Maddaddam Trilogy. Over the course of three books (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, and Maddaddam), Atwood travels back and forth across time and perspective to reveal the cause-and-effect of a devastating plague. Atwood doesn't shy away from the big questions: where do we draw the line between "good" vs. "evil," or "nature" vs. "nurture"? What is worth preserving, and who is worthy of redemption? (Read it now and catch Michael Lesslie's television adaptation--coming soon!)
MaddAddam (The MaddAddam Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780307455482
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Anchor - August 12th, 2014

My Monticello, by Jocelyn Nicole Johnson

Staff Pick

This book of short stories is amazing, in particular the novella, My Monticello. Set in Charlottesville after the heatwaves, wildfires, and demonstrations, it traces "the unraveling" when the power fails and the guys with the tiki torches return and drive people away from their homes. A diverse busload of students and others--including the protagonist,  De'Naisha Love, and her grandmother, MaViolet, descendants of Jefferson and Sally Hemings--escape the mayhem and flee to Jefferson’s hilltop home, Monticello. Over 19 days the group organizes and tries to fend for iself.  The writing sizzles.  

My Monticello: Fiction Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250807151
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - October 5th, 2021

The Yield, by Tara June Winch

Staff Pick

The Yield is a revelation of a silenced people putting their essence into words and sending its message out into the world. Winch's award-winning novel begins with August, a woman of aboriginal descent, returning to Australia to attend her grandfather's funeral. The family homestead in remote Massacre Falls is in danger of being taken over by a tin mine, which affords August an uncertain homecoming. Along with excerpts form the dictionary of the Wiradjuri langauge compiled by August's grandfather, the novel stretches to encompass a German missionary's account of the story of Massacre Falls itself, amid these plotlines, August slowly regains her connection to her people and the land they're losing. Winch's playful yet clear-eyed telling gains the force of a shout against the forces of oppression that would destroy us all.

The Yield: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063003477
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: HarperVia - June 15th, 2021

Pages