Every Dog in the Neighborhood (Hardcover)

Every Dog in the Neighborhood By Philip C. Stead, Matthew Cordell (Illustrator) Cover Image

Every Dog in the Neighborhood (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of Nov 27 5:19pm
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
1 on hand, as of Nov 27 5:33pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market
1 on hand, as of Nov 27 5:33pm
How many dogs live in the neighborhood? Louis decides to find out—by meeting every single one.

Louis really wants a dog, but his Grandma insists, “There are enough dogs in the neighborhood already.”  While Louis disagrees, he realizes he needs more information to support his argument: so he sets out to figure out how many dogs live in the neighborhood. 

While Grandma sets out on errands of her own, Louis starts knocking on doors.  He meets big dogs and little dogs, dogs with jobs, dogs who eat socks, and dogs who are much missed. (He also meets cats, and birds, and one very big python, but those don’t count!) 

By the time he gets home Louis is ready to tell Grandma just how many dogs are in the neighborhood. . . .  But Grandma thinks he just might have missed one.  A particularly loveable dog.  A dog who needs a new home. 

Maybe there are enough dogs in the neighborhood after all. 

Philip Stead and Caldecott Medalist Matt Cordell team up once again for a sweet, offbeat tale about a loving grandparent and grandchild in the tradition of Follow That Frog and Special Delivery. Perfect for dog lovers, of course—but the charming, subtle messages of community and compassion will appeal across the animal kingdom. 

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
Philip C. Stead is the author of the Caldecott Medal winner, A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by his wife, Erin E. Stead. Their collaboration, Music for Mister Moon, won the Great Lakes Great Reads Award. Philip has written and illustrated many picture books including Follow That Frog with Matthew Cordell, which was a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection. He is also the author of Hello, My Name is Ruby, Jonathan and the Big Blue Boat, A Home for Bird, All the Animals where I Live, and Vernon is on His Way. He also illustrated Charlotte Zolotow's In My Garden for Holiday House. He lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan.
 

Matthew Cordell is the Caldecott Medal-winning author and illustrator of Wolf in the Snow and Hello Neighbor!: The Kind and Caring World of Mister Rogers, recipient of four starred reviews, and the illustrator of numerous highly acclaimed children's books including Philip C. Stead's books Follow That Frog, The Only Fish in the Sea and Special Delivery, which was a Washington Post Best Book. He wrote and illustrated Another Brother, Wish, and Hello! Hello!, a New York Times Notable Children's Book. Matthew lives near Chicago with his wife, author Julie Halpern, and their two children.
 
Product Details ISBN: 9780823444274
ISBN-10: 0823444279
Publisher: Neal Porter Books
Publication Date: June 21st, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English
★ "Cordell brings to the page a vivid cast of characters as Louis canvasses the neighborhood. His shaggy, loose-lined illustrations in warm pastels are detailed and filled with humor. . . . Stead creates an indelible character in Grandma, who is fierce, determined, and kind, and he leaves plenty of room in his lively text for Cordell to add layer upon layer to this already nuanced tale—one that ends sweetly, in more ways than one."—The Horn Book, Starred Review

★ "What a pleasure to see sprawling urban neighborhood scenes with every kind of adult, child, and dog imaginable, all packed into a picture book. . . . Louis’s innocent but matter-of-fact narration is entertaining for all ages (with plenty of inside literary jokes to boot). . . . The art matches the tone of the book, making this a gentle and pleasant read."—School Library Journal, Starred Review

"Every Dog in the Neighborhood is an easy book to fall in love with. Philip C. Stead's writing is exquisite, and illustrator Matthew Cordell's artwork portrays a delightful menagerie of humans and their four-legged friends. . . . a memorable story about energetic grandparenting, the importance of being a good neighbor and the fruits of civic engagement."—BookPage

"Previous collaborators Stead and Cordell (Follow That Frog) turn to real-world portraiture, spotlighting the racially diverse neighborhood's dog owners—and each pooch—in affectionate cameos."—Publishers Weekly

"This charming, gently humorous tale will resonate with youngsters. Adults will appreciate the winks directed at them. . . . Illustrations rendered with pen, ink, and watercolor and marked by Cordell’s signature quick, loose strokes complement the sweet story and capture Louis and Grandma’s loving relationship admirably. . . . Whether you’re a dog lover or not, count this one a winner"—Kirkus Reviews

"Plenty of visual happenings for young viewers to pore over. Cordell’s characteristic scribbly art . . . perfectly captures the movement and organized chaos of city streets. . . ."—The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books