Other Destinies: Understanding the American Indian Novel Volume 3 (American Indian Literature and Critical Studies #3) (Paperback)

This first book-length critical analysis of the full range of novels written between 1854 and today by American Indian authors takes as its theme the search for self-discovery and cultural recovery. In his introduction, Louis Owens places the novels in context by considering their relationships to traditional American Indian oral literature as well as their differences from mainstream Euroamerican literature. In the following chapters he looks at the novels of John Rollin Ridge, Mourning Dove, John Joseph Mathews, D'Arcy McNickle, N. Scott Momaday, James Welch, Leslie Marmon Silko, Louise Erdrich, Michael Dorris, and Gerald Vizenor.

Product Details ISBN: 9780806126739
ISBN-10: 0806126736
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
Publication Date: September 15th, 1994
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: American Indian Literature and Critical Studies