Grandfather's Journey: A Caldecott Award Winner (Paperback)

Grandfather's Journey: A Caldecott Award Winner By Allen Say, Allen Say (Illustrator) Cover Image

Grandfather's Journey: A Caldecott Award Winner (Paperback)

By Allen Say, Allen Say (Illustrator)

$7.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of May 29 5:21pm

In this Caldecott Medalwinning picture book, master storyteller Allen Say chronicles his family’s history between Japan and California. A lyrical, breathtaking tale of one man’s love for two countries, Grandfather’s Journey is perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Thank You, Omu!

Through pensive portraits and delicately faded art, Allen Say pays tribute to his grandfather’s persistent longing for home that continues within Allen.

This restlessness and constant desire to be in two places speaks to a universal experience as well as the deeply personal ties of family to place, and what it means to be at home in more than one country.

Both a celebration of heritage and a poignant exploration of the struggles we inherit, Grandfather’s Journey is a modern classic perfect for every household.

Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, and came to the United States when he was sixteen. His many treasured books for children include Tree of CranesAllison, and the Caldecott Medal–winning Grandfather's Journey. He lives in Portland, Oregon.



Allen Say was born in Yokohama, Japan, and came to the United States when he was sixteen. His many treasured books for children include Tree of CranesAllison, and the Caldecott Medal–winning Grandfather's Journey. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Product Details ISBN: 9780547076805
ISBN-10: 0547076800
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: October 27th, 2008
Pages: 32
Language: English

"The immigrant experience has rarely been so poignantly evoked as it is in this direct, lyrical narrative that is able to stir emotions through the sheer simplicity of its telling." Horn Book, Starred

Library Media Connection —