The Sacred Bridge: A Novel (A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel #7) (Hardcover)

The Sacred Bridge: A Novel (A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel #7) Cover Image

The Sacred Bridge: A Novel (A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel #7) (Hardcover)

$26.99


In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
5 on hand, as of Jul 5 1:18am
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
2 on hand, as of Jul 5 1:33am

Don’t miss the TV series, Dark Winds, based on the Leaphorn, Chee, & Manuelito novels, now on AMC and AMC+!  

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A fine legacy series . . .  in the spirit of her late father, Tony.”—Booklist 

An ancient mystery resurfaces with ramifications for the present day in this gripping chapter in the Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series from New York Times bestselling author Anne Hillerman.

Sergeant Jim Chee’s vacation to beautiful Antelope Canyon and Lake Powell has a deeper purpose. He’s on a quest to unravel a sacred mystery his mentor, the Legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, stumbled across decades earlier. 

Chee’s journey takes a deadly turn when, after a prayerful visit to the sacred Rainbow Bridge, he spots a body floating in the lake. The dead man, a Navajo with a passion for the canyon’s ancient rock art, lived a life filled with many secrets. Discovering why he died and who was responsible involves Chee in an investigation that puts his own life at risk. 

Back in Shiprock, Officer Bernadette Manuelito is driving home when she witnesses an expensive sedan purposely kill a hitchhiker. The search to find the killer leads her to uncover a dangerous chain of interconnected revelations involving a Navajo Nation cannabis enterprise. 

But the evil that is unleashed jeopardizes her mother and sister Darleen, and puts Bernie in the deadliest situation of her law enforcement career. 

ANNE HILLERMAN is the bestselling author of the Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito series. The Sacred Bridge is her seventh novel in the series, which was created by her father, Tony Hillerman. She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico, where she is at work on her next novel.


Product Details ISBN: 9780062908360
ISBN-10: 0062908367
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: April 12th, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Leaphorn, Chee & Manuelito Novel

“Anne Hillerman is a star.” — J. A. Jance, New York Times bestselling author

"Anne Hillerman’s taken familiar characters and locations and struck out on a literary legacy all her own.” — Craig Johnson, author of the Walt Longmire Series

“Anne Hillerman brilliantly continues the Hillerman legacy, expanding the mystery genre by making Bernadette Manuelito America’s most popular Native American female law enforcement officer.” — David Morrell, New York Times bestselling author

"I truly love the continuing series of novels by Anne Hillerman featuring Joe Leaphorn, Jim Chee, and Bernadette Manuelito—who are, each in their own way, fictional characters for the ages." — Douglas Preston, New York Times bestselling author

"Captivating . . . Series fans will be well satisfied." — Publishers Weekly

"Gripping." — Bookreporter

The Tale Teller is more than just a police procedural set in the Southwest; it’s a reading experience not to be missed. Anne Hillerman has reached a new level of storytelling in this one, and she deserves recognition as one of the finest mystery authors currently working in the genre.” — New York Journal of Books on The Tale Teller

“Tony Hillerman fans will appreciate her keeping his fictional creations, Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn, alive and thriving. The storytelling gene has been proudly passed on from father to daughter.” — Bookreporter on Stargazer

“Hillerman’s writing becomes stronger with every new installment in the series, deepening the development of each character. . . . The picturesque Southwest, as well as the history of the Navajo, come through on each page.” — Library Journal (starred review) on The Tale Teller

“Hillerman seamlessly blends tribal lore and custom into a well-directed plot, continuing in the spirit of her late father, Tony, by keeping his characters (like Chee) in the mix, but still establishing Manuelito as the main player in what has become a fine legacy series.” — Booklist on Song of the Lion

“The latest from Hillerman continues worldbuilding in a tale that will reward long-term readers.” — Kirkus Reviews on Song of the Lion

“Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito, characters created by the author’s father, Tony Hillerman, will savor this multilayered story of suspense, with its background of contemporary environmental vs. development issues.” — Library Journal on Song of the Lion